Wednesday, August 4, 2010

No Indian writer in 2010 Booker long-list

No Indian writer figures in this year’s long-list for the prestigious Man Booker Prize for fiction, which is considered the leading literary award in the English-speaking world. The 2010 shortlist for the £50,000 prize will be announced on September 7 and the winner will be revealed on October 12 at a dinner at London’s Guildhall.

Indian or Indian-origin writers had been prominent contenders for the prize in recent years, but they did not figure in this year’s long-list for the coveted prize. Two recent winners of the prize were Aravinda Adiga (2008) and Kiran Desai (2006).

The long-list includes Peter Carey’s Parrot and Olivier in America; Emma Donoghue’s Room; Helen Dunmore’s The Betrayal; Damon Galgut’s In a Strange Room; Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question, Andrea Levy’s The Long Song; Tom McCarthy’s Book Titled C; David Mitchell’s The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet; Lisa Moore’s February; Paul Murray’s Skippy Dies; Rose Tremain’s Trespass, Christos Tsiolkas’ The Slap; and Alan Warner’s The Stars in the Bright Sky.

The chair of judges, Andrew Motion, commented: “Here are 13 exceptional novels-books we have chosen for their intrinsic quality, without reference to the past work of their authors. Wide-ranging in their geography and their concern, they tell powerful stories which make the familiar strange and cover an enormous range of history and feeling.”


Anonymous said...

So said to here that no one writer is in booker long list. I hope that next year will be.......

Post a Comment


IT Tech Research Copyright © 2009 Gadget Blog is Designed by Ipietoon Sponsored by Online Business Journal